Tier Certification

Tier Certification 概述

今日,每家组织都依赖数字资源之间的复杂互联来维持业务运行和财政表现。Shareholders and stakeholders demand that their data center infrastructure investments are well defined and fully supported, as millions of dollars are at risk if the wrong choices are made.

Uptime Institute’s Tier Standards are the globally recognized standard for data center availability and overall performance. It allows for various performance levels that consider both the built environment, as well as the approach and performance of the operations team.

While Uptime Tier Standards define the topology and operational sustainability performance requirements for each Tier Classification, Tier Certification verifies the application of the Tier Standard to ensure the facility is designed, constructed and operated to those specifications.

Uptime developed Tier Certification over 30 years ago to measure how well a data center can meet the needs of an organization. Since then, these certifications have gained worldwide recognition and provide a mark of excellence unique to high-performing businesses. With organization-specific, component-level and performance-based evaluations, as well as extremely thorough and unbiased site visits, few programs can match the caliber of Uptime's certification.

With over 3400 awards issued in over 114 countries around the globe, Uptime Tier Certification is the industry standard for design, construction, and ongoing operations.



Hear from our Tier Certification Clients

Understanding Tier Classifications

Tier Certification certifies your site to one of four Tier Classifications, ranging from Tier I through Tier IV. A data center’s Tier Classification is aligned to the requirements defined in the Uptime Tier Standard specifications. The Tier Standards are an unbiased set of infrastructure and operating criteria, unique and well-known in the industry for their rigor and comprehensiveness. 

Tier I
Basic Capacity

Site-wide shutdowns are required for maintenance or repair work. Capacity or distribution failures will impact the site.

Tier II
Redundant Capacity Components

Site-wide shutdowns for maintenance are still required. Capacity failures may impact the site. Distribution failures will impact the site.

Tier III
Concurrently Maintainable

Each and every capacity component and distribution path in a site can be removed on a planned basis for maintenance or replacement without impacting operations. The site is still exposed to an equipment failure or operator error.

Tier IV
Fault Tolerant

An individual equipment failure or distribution path interruption will not impact operations. A Fault Tolerant site is also Concurrently Maintainable.

The Milestones of Tier Certification

Tier Certification of Design Documents

设计数据中心需要大量规划。企业必须明确服务器的位置、主电源和应急电源、网络路由、冷却设备、电缆管理和所需的安全措施。This process is an undertaking that most businesses cannot reliably perform in-house, creating worrisome financial risks for investors should any design mistakes slip past.

Uptime's Tier Certification of Design Documents (TCDD) positions data center projects for success from the earliest stages by applying standardized goals and methodology. Uptime offers professional data center design certification to businesses looking to maximize the effectiveness of their facilities, while also ensuring the proposed design meets their intended Tier objective.

Tier Certification of Constructed Facility

Tier Certification of Constructed Facility (TCCF) ensures that your facility has been constructed as designed and verifies that it is capable of meeting the defined performance requirements. Common construction phase practices and value engineering proposals can inadvertantly compromise the design intent of a data center.

由于任何数据中心项目都会涉及多个供应商、分包商,而且一般会涉及超过 50 个不同的学科(结构、电气、暖通空调 (HVAC)、水暖、燃料泵、网络等),因此不在建造过程中引入错误或意料之外的风险将是一项不同凡响的成就。Tier Certification of Constructed Facility 可让您确保自己的设备在构建时符合预期的性能、有效性和可靠性。 

Tier Certification of Operational Sustainability

Uptime Tier Certification of Operational Sustainability (TCOS) provides Tier Certified data center owners, operators, and managers with an assessment of the prioritized behaviors and risks intrinsic to data center operations and serves as an essential guide for effective and efficient operations. This certification ensures your well designed and expertly constructed data center is operated in a manner which will result in the expected production levels.

Owners and operators that earn the Tier Certification of Operational Sustainability have demonstrated their ability to plan for non-stop production to continue throughout all normal operating conditions. 

Tier Certification Scope

The Tier Standard specification documents are the basis for the Tier Certification process. We have included a summary of key evaluation components below, but please download the specifications for additional details on the components assessed during the certification process. 
  • 电气系统
  • Structural Factors
  • 建造特点
  • 机械系统
  • 管理运营
  • 场地位置
  • 现场发电
  • Occupational Safety
  • Physical Security
  • Equipment Maintenance
  • 补充水
  • Ambient Design Conditions
  • Distribution Paths
  • Battery Performance & Storage
  • Critical Spaces
  • Outdoor Environment
  • Electrical Power Backbone
  • Commissioning Documentation
  • Fire Protection
  • 容量管理

The Tier Standard Approach

The Uptime Tier Standard establishes a consistent set of performance criteria that can be satisfied, and adjudicated worldwide.  This performance-based approach is flexible to changes in the industry.  The six characteristics below identify how the Tier Standard differs from other standards in the industry. 

Globally Recognized

Our Tier Standard is the IT industry's most trusted and adopted global standard for data center design, construction, and operations. We've issued over 3400 awards in over 114 countries.

Technology Neutral

在千变万化的技术格局下,Tier 级别无需也不依赖于任何固定的技术组合。The Standards are able to accomodate new and innovative solutions for data center systems and engineering, such as modular configurations, OCP, and leading-edge power and cooling approaches.

Performance Based

Tier Standard 基于性能表现,而不是条件式规范。Any design solution that meets the availability, redundancy, and fault tolerance requirements is acceptable. 这样宽容的界线允许您集成多种基础设施和系统解决方案,充分满足组织的 IT 运营、成本、可持续性和正常运行时间目标。

Vendor Agnostic

Uptime is an independent services organization without any affinity to hardware or brand. 因此,Tier Standard 标准无厂家色彩,公正无偏。


The performance-based nature of the Tier Standards gives organizations flexibility to comply with local statutes, codes, and regulations without compromising their Tier Classification. 


While Tier Standards define the requirements, Tier Certification verifies the application of the Tier Standard to ensure the facility is designed, constructed and operated to the the requirements outlined in the Tier Standards. 

Find Tier Certified Data Centers Near You

We have issued over 3400 awards in over 114 countries — a testament to the level of global respect that Tier Certification has achieved as an industry standard for design, construction and operations.

From rural to urban locations and everywhere in between, organizations worldwide showcase their commitment to data center excellence with Tier Certification from Uptime Institute. 

Visit our Uptime Institute Awards site to find Tier Certified data centers near you. 
Uptime Institute Tier Certified Data Centers

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink SoftwarePowered By OneLink